The first morning I could, I picked up my usual walking pace to work just so I can start my Mission.  It was a Friday and as Friday goes around Rockefeller Center, its infested with tourists for the Today Show.  The infestation had already spread into the bakery.  I walked in and was immediately annoyed at the clusters of aliens in the way of my pastries and their lack of appreciation for this no ordinary shop as they were just looking for some coffee and breakfast to sustain their energy for screaming at Al Roker when he came out to do the weather.

I tried hard to forget the annoyance as I got closer to the counter and it wasn’t so difficult after see the goods.  I spotted a few choices and as usual, I couldn’t decide.  But then I realized, I will be trying everything so it doesn’t matter! I chose the  raspberry almond croissant.

Almond Raspberry Croissant

It was everything I had expected from this place.  I was little concerned that the quality might be sacrificed given the heavy tourist location as I’ve witnessed this happen to another famous bakery in the local area.  The croissant was flaky but not the flakiest I’ve had.  It did not have that overpowering buttery taste to it but I think because it was distracted by the fresh raspberry jam in between.  This jam (or preserve?) was really my most favorite part about this croissant.  I don’t think I ever had a jam filled croissant before but darn, I really loved it!  The jam was seeded and there was the perfect amount, not too globby, not too skimpy.  I especially loved how it was spread evenly across the entire croissant so that a taste of raspberry was enjoyed in each bite.

lovely spread of jam

The cost was $4.08 with tax.

It was a slow day at work and I started craving a good snack mid afternoon.  So I decided to go for my second run of the day. I knew I wanted a macaron but wasn’t sure which.  Banana Hazelnut, hmm I don’t think I’ve ever seen that combo before!

Supersized Banana Hazelnut

Now it should be noted that Keller’s macarons are not your typical two inchers.  They are probably close to four inches.  In the past, I found that larger macarons although more to favor, was not as delicate as the normal sized ones.  I didn’t know what to expect here but I was pleasantly pleased by the delicacy of this macaron despite its size.  As you have learned from my previous post, its all about the light and airy!! Keller did excellent here.  I have to say, I don’t think I tasted a lot of hazelnut or banana in my first two bites.  I thought flavoring was on the weaker side, but on my third bite, a burst of banana flavor came through.  There was actually a piece of banana thoughtfully wedged inside the middle of the macarons.  Was this why it needed to be four inches?  I was very pleased by this surprise and probably made up for the lack of hazelnut presence.  Although, I think if the flavorings were more powerful, it could’ve made this treat too cloyingly sweet.  In the end, it was a great balance of the flavors with the airy macaron.  Cost:  $4.38 with tax.

