Anyone who knows me knows I am not a girly-girl. I never dreamed about being a princess or a bride. But, here I am, suffering from insomnia at the Cleveland Hyatt Regency – and surfing the web, I came across some photos of Vera Wang’s Spring 2011 collection. I was actually inspired to check out the rest of the line on Vera’s website. And, I have to admit, my eyes widened a bit, in that “I see something I covet” way. I have never really understood the appeal of wedding gowns. I have flipped through bridal magazines and they all just kind of looked like prom dresses on steroids to me. But I see a special romance in these dresses – in all their flouncy, filmy, ruffly, warm peachy, and beigy-toned glory. Am I crazy? Suffering from lack of sleep? I know that if I ever do get married, it will likely be way past the point where I can reasonably have a princess-wedding with the big gown and everything. But, I would really like to see one of my friends in one of these dresses…

How can this dress not inspire romance? Why am I looking at wedding dresses at 4AM in Cleveland, Ohio?

