OK, so I am on a food blog roll.  Seeing mrscannoli’s food posts inspired me to post another one myself.  As I’ve said before, I love food and I love to cook and bake.  Yes, I am a self-proclaimed foodie.  And so is my husband.  Being the genius that he is, in the past few years, he has managed to give me presents that I love and that which also benefits him.  Like cooking, baking and chocolate-making classes.  If you asked me, I think I got the short end of the stick here!  LOL

Last June, I took a week-long bread making class.  It was amazing and I had so much fun.  We made various Italian and French breads, as well as, regular loaves, and delicious patisseries and viennoiseries.  There is nothing like the smell of fresh baked bread.  The aroma wafts through the entire house and I feel like one of those cartoon characters where I float weightlessly towards the baked goods, following the aromatic trail.

Breads galore made during class

Savory rolls made during class

Pastries made during class

Sweet breads and viennoiseries made during class

The taste, texture and quality of the baked goods are far better than many of the cafes and bakery shops.  Everything was delicious.  After the class, I was inspired to bake, bake, bake!  Unfortunately, I’ve only managed to bake a few loaves of bread and some pizzas thus far.

I made pizza not too long ago and it was SO good!  The dough is the best part, it’s so nice and crispy on the edges.  Now, my husband and I have no desire to go to a pizza restaurant at all.  Unless we are in Italy or back in NY, that is.  The great thing about making your own pizza is that you put whatever toppings you want!  And, when heated up the next day, leftover pizza is equally as good as the day before.  Maybe even better.

Pizza made at home, with proccuitto, caramelized onions, sauted mushrooms and olives

Let’s have a pizza party, Spices!

