I had never heard of spaghetti squash until a couple of years ago.  I think I heard about it from nyuchick.  Something about a vegetable that you cook and it looks and tastes like spaghetti.  I hate to be negative, but how can this be true?  Could it be true?  Am I in denial?  I do love zucchini and this is a squash, so it must be in the same food family.  It had to be good, right?  Well, there was only one way to find out.

I saw spaghetti squash in the supermarket and decided it was time to buy one and cook it up.  So I bought it.  And then I forgot about it.  It’s been in my fridge for possibly 3 weeks.  It rolled all the way to the back so I did not remember it was in there!!!  I needed to make room for other stuff in the fridge so I decided today was the day to make the spaghetti squash.

Hola, Mexican spaghetti squash #4776. I'm sure this is a spaghetti squash because the little sticker says so. Otherwise, I would have had no idea what the heck it was.

I did a little research online and some recipes recommended microwaving it whole and then slicing it open and roasting it in the oven.  I guess the outside it so hard you need to soften it a little before you can get a knife in it.  I microwaved it for about 6 minutes, trying not to have visions of vegetables exploding in slow motion.  It did not explode.  I cracked it in half, put it on a baking tray and roasted it for a half hour in my convection oven.

I let it cool, scooped out and discarded the seeds, and then scraped the inside with a fork to achieve the “spaghetti” effect.  Wow – it does look like spaghetti!  Awesome!

God makes the most interesting vegetables, doesn't he?

I saw some recipes that recommended sautéing the spaghetti squash with some garlic and olive oil but I got lazy after so much scraping (exaggerating for effect), so I just seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic powder and a smidge of olive oil.

So how was it?

It was ok.  I’m sorry, that’s the best description I could come up with.  Maybe If I had actually done the sautee, it would have been tastier but I did not see what the big appeal was.  It had a decent flavor, it was stringy like spaghetti, but it was NOT SPAGHETTI.  Not even close.  If I had cooked spaghetti and put the same seasoning on it, it would have been wonderful.  But this was not.  It also seemed to be mushy and clumpy.  Not sure if that was the proper consistency.

Would I try spaghetti squash again?  Maybe in a restaurant but I doubt I would make it again at home.

Has anyone else made spaghetti squash and loved it?

