This year, McDonald’s March advertising got to me, and I’ve been craving a Shamrock Shake for weeks. I barely recall the actual taste of them, but I have this vague memory of a half-finished shake, sitting in the sun – with the food coloring clinging to the lid, having separated from the rest of the shake. Un-lovely, un-natural, sickly syrupy sweet…mmmmm…

So, on the way home from grocery shopping, I stopped at the drive-thru of the McDonald’s on the way home. To my surprise…THIS is what shamrock shakes look like these days:

Whipped cream? Cherry? What is all this? And the green…not quite as neon as I recall. My nostalgic cravings never quite live up to the hype. But I finished the whole thing and now I have a weird headache…Can I even categorize this as “food and drink spice”? I think I’ll just keep it at “other”. This was one treat I should have just imagined in my mind and not actually put into my stomach!

