I have a lot of time on my hands recently.  I have been looking for things to do to keep me busy, aside from doing house-wifey stuff.  I’ve taken various cooking and baking courses (one of my passions as I LOVE food!).  With time on my side, I’ve been a lot more adventurous with my cooking and baking, which my husband absolutely loves.

I’ve wanted to do some volunteer work but somehow never got around to it because 1. my local charity is not really close by and I am just too lazy to bus/train it there, and 2. in my current condition, I would be limited to what I can and cannot do.  So, as the days flew by, the idea gradually waned.

Then one day, I had an epiphany – I will knit a blanket for our baby!  OK, so it’s not anything dramatic, but it will keep me busy for a while.  And the baby will have something that I made myself.  Now, I’ve never knitted before and have no clue whatsoever.  My dear hubby suggested I take some knitting classes.  ‘Why?’ I said.  ‘It can’t be that difficult.  I will learn on my own!’

So, armed with determination, I googled ‘knitting for beginners’ and got a bunch of Youtube hits.  I watched a few and feeling confident, went shopping for yarn and knitting needles.  Back home, I was excited to get started and began knitting.  A couple of hours later, I had something that resembles a small swatch of knitted yarn.  I messed up in many places, but must admit it was not a bad start.  My first ball of yarn (50g weight) took me a week to complete, knitting whenever I have time.  I realized that this is hard work!

First Attempt - Swatch has lots of snags and is mis-shapened

I did much better with the second ball of yarn and was feeling a lot more confident.  So far only one little mistake.  This is the start of our baby blanket, so I must not make any more mistakes!  I found that knitting is actually quite relaxing.  And the satisfaction of seeing a tangible end-product you made yourself is very rewarding. Thank you, Youtube!  If it weren’t for the videos, I would have had to pay lots of money to learn how to knit!

Current project - Looking much better!

