It seems a continuing trend on fashion blogs and message boards lately is the quest for the perfect nude patent heel. I have to admit, I think they are very smart and sexy looking, and would be perfect for work as a lighter shoe alternative. I am a black shoe girl and it’s very hard for me to imagine my feet in anything else. I have brown, I have gray, I even had navy once, but I always go back to black. That’s the name of a fantastic Amy Winehouse song by the way, but I digress . . .

I think I am ready to jump on the nude bandwagon, but I have some requirements:

• Not too high (in my old age, I can’t bear to wear anything over 3 inches anymore)

• No platform (not my style, and in a nude color, I think they come off a little trashy stripper-like)

• Not too expensive (I am not made out of money, and I do not want to throw a lot of money at a shoe I’m not sure I’m going to get a lot of wear out of)

I recently blogged about a fabulous nude heel by Coach that I’ve been planning to buy, but the only place I’ve seen them is at Lord and Taylor and I have been too busy at work to get over there. In the meantime, I came across this pair in my internet travels . . .

Tahari Collette Pump

Nice, huh? It’s got a slight platform, it’s about 3 inches and it’s cheaper than the Coach pair, so I was intrigued. Plus, I have other Tahari shoes that are super comfortable. So off I went today while I was “food shopping” to “click click” check them out.

I found them, but my regular size 6 was a touch too big. I really think shoe manufacturers are vanity sizing now too because I’ve been a 6 for like 15 years and not I am a 5.5 in many brands. And of course, did not have 5.5. I will go to the DSW near work (which is more convenient for me than Lord and Taylor).

So who really goes to a shoe superstore, looks for one thing and then leaves? No one I know. So I walked the whole store anyway. You know, just to see what was there. I swear. Anyhoo, I found a pair of Steve Madden flats in the clearance section. Well, not really flats. More like a low heel. In black, of course.

 

Steve Madden Sofieee in black leather

A lot of my work pants are on the short side so a high heel does not work so I figured this 1-inch number would do the trick and would be comfortable for grabbing lunch, running for the bus, etc. But then I looked to the left, and there was the nude patent version as well.

 

Steve Madden Sofieee in blush patent

Hmm . . .do I buy black or nude? Black or nude? Black or nude?

So I did what I normally do in this situation.  I bought both pairs.

I know, I know . . . but I am horrible at making decisions and the nude ones actually looked cute with my jeans so I imagined myself running my spring errands wearing them. I also will need them to run to clients that are not dressy, but not super casual. I think they’d also looked cute with a skirt in the summer. It might be good to have a neutral option instead of black.

Price tag was for each pair read $59.94 so for two pairs I was prepared to spend $120 plus tax. So sad for an impulse purchase. However, when I got up to the counter, There was a discount (40% off clearance for the black and 50% off clearance for the nude) on top of another discount (30% extra clearance?) so at the end of the day, I paid an average of $24 for each pair. Two pairs of shoes for $48.

I’m pleased!!!

But now I am second guessing myself on the nude pair. On one hand, you can’t beat a pair of leather shoes for $24. On the other hand, I’m rethinking the low heel. Is the 1-inch heel farty? Are they fab or fug? Should I hold out for the heels? Which will be more practical? Which will I get more use out of?

Please help me!

