Sometimes I do irrational things.  Like the day I caved in and purchased a gift certificate for highlights from Gilt.  I was at work and feeling a little stressed and down in the dumps and admittedly a little rough, beauty-wise.  I love that expression by the way – “she looked a little rough”.  It’s tough to describe what that looks like but you know it when you see it.  And boy was I feeling rough.

I’ve been having a love/hate relationship with my hair lately, for two reasons:

  • The onslaught of greys that are salting up my peppery mane.  I used to put highlights in my hair many years back and then stopped because I thought I was looking a little stripe-y.  Then I starting getting a single-process color, not to change the color but to cover the greys.  But it was just not getting the job done and it was costing me too much to keep getting color at the sa-lon.  I’ve toyed with the idea of doing it myself at home but I’m always afraid I will make a complete mess of my hair.  When I was in grade school, a girl in my class colored her hair too light and then attempted to color her hair again back to its natural brunette state.  It did not go well and the kids called her Elvira for about a month.  But I’ll get back to grade school in a little bit.
  • The frizzmonster!  It’s awful.  How did we all survive our teenage years without the advanced tools and potions they have today to make your hair silky and smooth?  At this point, I’ve tried almost everything I can buy OTC to fight the frizz and there are some good products out there.  I currently swear by Paul Mitchell Super Skinny Serum when I perform the annoying task of flat ironing my hair every morning.

So long story longer, something professional with this hair had to be done.  I am considering getting either a keratin treatment or a Brazilian blowout because I hear it removes the frizz but still keeps the bounce in your hair.  Sounds like it would be right up my alley right?  But from the research I’ve done, it can cost up to $500 and is not a permanent fix (it should last 6 weeks to 4 months depending on who you speak to).  My stylist Randy at Bumble and Bumble knows my follicle and financial situation and suggested I go see this girl named Mary at the Anthony Leonard Salon for the keratin treatment because they used to work together, she’s good and it would be cheaper than some other places (around $350).  Still not wanting to bite the bullet, I waited months and months.  And then came Gilt.

About two weeks ago on Gilt I see a sale for highlights at the Anthony Leonard Salon.  Not the keratin treatment I’ve been contemplating, but highlights.  Hmm, I could use some highlight again and it’s the same salon that was recommended to me by Randy!  It’s a sign!  So before I could read the fine print, I hit “BUY” and got “discount” highlights.  Discount price being $150.  $150 more than I have right now.  And that price does not include the blow dry.  Which is another $75.  And without the tip.  Why?  Turns out this place is a celeb hair place, not for the average cannoli.

What the hell was I thinking?  Damn you Gilt!  The g(u)ilt I was feeling was too much!  But I was in for it now and there was no turning back (and more importantly, no refunds).

Anyhoo, tonight was my highlight appointment.  My 5:30 appointment was apparently double booked because my color gal did not touch my hair until 6:15.  But I admit she was very nice, we chatted a lot about how did I not want anything drastic and she understood.  She foiled me up like a baked potato and put me under the heat lamp.  She gave me a gloss treatment and massaged the gloss to blend in the highlights.  I have to admit it was feeling worth the price.  Worth the discount price for sure.

And now it was time for the blow dry.  With Mary!  The keratin goddess that was praised to me by Randy!  She was very nice and we spoke about Facebook and high school and class reunions and age and then something clicked in my head, like I knew who she was.  And it must have clicked for her too because she asked me what high school I went to.  Turns out we went to the same high school.  And the same grade school.  She was two years ahead of me and in my sister’s class!  So weird, right?  I did not remember her at first, but the more I looked at her and thought about it, I think I do remember her.  How cool is that?  You rock Mary!  You rock not because we’re from the same hood, but because you gave me the best blow out I’ve had in YEARS!  It looks like a got a cut but I did not get a cut!  I feel like freaking Farrah Faucet right now!  I am definitely going back for the keratin treatment as soon as I can save up the cash.

Now if I only had a self-portrait of my Hotty McHot hair . . .  😉

